“We survived the Hurricane”

Weather report!! Today is sunny with a chance of miracles!! Bueno. This past week has been quite busy with activities, service projects and capacitacion de Zona (training). So this past week the Missionaries in by barrio had been haunted with one question. -“What are we going to do for the Show de Talentos?” Well the results was Hermana Nelson and I choreographing a dance to Cotton Eyed Joe while our companions gave us moral support. Yes I confess I have danced in public on my mission, and everyone had a blast!! Any excuse to wear jeans for a few minuets. haha. Speaking of Jeans, we had a service project at a members house and for the first time in my life I found myself sweeping a ceiling, and one of the elders was trimming hedges with normal scissors. while my companion pulled weeds. one of the more interesting services we have done.

We have had a great week this past week, though it passed really fast. We found one of the old investigators of past missionaries who had survived a broken spine. We invited her to follow the example of Jesus Christ by being baptized, and well she told us that she can’t say yes just yet. The key word is yet!! We are also still teaching Lucas, who is looking for faith. He says that He does not really belive in God, but is trying to learn more and trying to find faith. The wonderful thing about this is that God has invited us to ask and search for him and that in searching we will find Him and He will bless us. And Lucas is more than willing to ask, ¿Por Que?, or ¿Como?. In the lesson that we had with him I told him that is was good to ask questions, and he in turn told me that it was good for me to ask questions as well. How true that is, we should all ask questions. 

One of the less active families we have been working with finally went to church this Sunday. I was so Happy I could have cried, but I didn’t. lol It really is so wonderful to watch people come to Christ and to partake of the Blessings that God has for them!! I love this work!! 

Con amor,

Hermana Spradlin

 

This past week has been really great, though it has moved by really fast, actually everything has been moving by really fast, yet some things happen slower than I would like (like the progress of some investigators or less actives). Maybe that feeling is a result of us being eternal beings having a mortal experience. We have one investigator Yasmina who is so adorably sweet, and pregnant!! I testify that pregnant people are cute!! It has been wonderful to see her faith and her belly grow, each day a little bigger, a little stronger. One of these days we went to give her her own book of Mormon, but first we had to help her make banana cake!! (she had already started to make it before we got there) I like cake, but what I love more is the sweetness of the Gospel and the blessings of the Spirit. When we presented the Book of Mormon to her I told her that The Book of Mormon is the Best thing that I have to give her, and really that is so true. The best that we can share with our friends and loved ones in the Restored Gospel of Jesus Christ. We returned the next day to give her parents, who are members, a poster board to write down goals down so that they can make it to the temple!!! First though we had to wake up Bettina (the mom) from her nap by singing “Oh how lovely was the morning!” and we were promptly attacked by pillows. So you really have to have a good relationship with people so that you can get away with things like that. 

We also rescued a pidgeon from the side of the road. It wasn’t the best Idea in the world, but after trying to leave in at a members house the wounded pidgeon ended up up spending the night on our balcony until it flew away. 
Life is crazy and busy, but is is likewise amazing and beautiful!! I really love this gospel and being in the Work of the Lord!! I know that this is the work of Salvation and that the Lord is apressurando su obra!!! I love you guys and hope that all is well!!
mucho amor,
Hermana Spradlin
 
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
 
About amberblackburn

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Currently I am Studying at Brigham Your University to be a Speech Pathologist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

