Con Amor

We are continuing strong here!! This past Wednesday we met our new mission president Presidenate y Hermana Smith. The experience was exremely spiritual. I definitely have a testimony that our new president was called of God to be the Mission President for the Uruguay Montevideo West Mission. I also know that the Lord listens to our prayers and knows our needs because when the President was speaking  His message was exactly what I needed. As missionaries we are given authority to Preach the Gospel  and when we are obedient  and have the spirit with us we have the power to teach. Hermana Smith is  so extremely sweet, when I saw her for the first time I felt  sure in that she is my mission mom! She is learning Spanish and when  the president  went to start interviews I moved over to talk with her  and  get  to  knew her some and when I went to  talk to her she looked at me  with a face full of hope and asked  me if I spoke English, the relief that filled her face when I said yes  was  so  sweet. She  then  proceeded to ask me to tell her   everything about me. I truly look forward to seeing them again. 

         We had splits this  past week with the Hermana who is over the sister missionaries in  two zones and her companion, who she is likewise training. For this day I was companions with the Hija.  Our trainers (or moms) must have lots of trust in us  because I led the proselyting, and we taught, and Hermana Chritiansen´s Spanish is more limited that mine. We survived. One lesson didn’t go too well but we survived,  and I still felt the spirit. It was just that the lesson was way too long, and the kids started asking questions  that I was not sure how to answer. This made us thirty minuets late for  another lesson that we were supposed to have with a member, and I didn’t have  the phone to contact the member. Yikes, I felt pretty bad after that. We did have a lesson that went really well though about our purpose here on the earth and how now is the time to  repent. The spirit was extremely strong in this lesson  especially when we testified of   Jesus Christ that that through Jesus Christ we can overcome any  trial, because it is true!!  We were teaching   two investigators, one of which we have been helping  to quit smoking so that he can be baptized and two inactive members. At the end of this lesson both investigators said that they  would  quite  smoking, and  they reaffirmed that they both have the desire to be baptized.  Now only if  we could get them to church on Sundays. The night ended well with a talents how by the youth and a reuniting with our mothers. I am so grateful for the power of the Spirit because otherwise I don´t think that we would have had much success that day. Truly it is from the Lord that we receive our strength. I love the Power of change that comes from accepting the atonement of Jesus Christ in our lives. I know that It is  through the Savior that we return to the presence of  our  Heavenly Father  and have Eternal families. There is great power and home that comes from being in a family that is centered on Jesus Christ and His commandments. I love the Book of Mormon, it is simple and true, and it is for us!! Take care of yourselves.

Que pasan linda,

Con amor,

Hermana Spradlin

About amberblackburn

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Currently I am Studying at Brigham Your University to be a Speech Pathologist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

