Early Uruguay

So I have been sent to the mission early! Yippee, no more CCM, Though I did love my experience there it is good to be out in the field. In the mission here the newbies are called Oros, which to me is way better than being called a greeny. I would rather be gold than green. My trainer makes me feel like gold, as well as the other companionship that we share a house with. Our house is made up of one Latina and three gringas. My Trainer is Hermana Phillips, she is Lo Mejor, and she is a nerd like me. I am looking forward to serving here In La Paz for a few weeks then it will be off to my assigned mission in Uruguay Montevideo West. It is neat because not everyone can say that they were able to serve their mission in two missions. If you are wondering how this all works out, I am subbing for a cortaplasa for a few weeks till she can return to the mission and till they have room for me in my mission. This is such an awesome experience. Yippee for the Gift of tongues and studying Spanish for the past eight years. I have been so incredibly blessed. Just so you all know we are all extremely spoiled in the states.

I am getting better at contacting people on the streets, but I could definitely use some more improvement. I love it here the Urugyan people are so strong and faithful. Most of the people are polite here as well. If they reject us they do it in the kindest manner possible. I think that the funniest one I have seen so far is when people start shaking their finger at us rapidly and saying no before we can even get a word out. We have one investigator who well is pretty much ready to jump into the water except that he needs to be married, he had been visiting with the missionaries before his family moved to La Paz and all that needs to happen is for Him to marry his wife for him to be baptized. I love visiting the houses of members and hearing their testimonies and feeling the spirit testify of the truthfulness of the gospel. I am grateful for this opportunity to serve as a set apart representative of Jesus Christ. I am grateful for my family and my friends, it does me such good to know that ya`ll are out there cheering me on. I know that the Book of Mormon is true and I know that the Gospel of Jesus Christ is the way for us to find happiness and peace in this life and in the next.
Con Amor, Hermana Spradlin.
About amberblackburn

I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Currently I am Studying at Brigham Your University to be a Speech Pathologist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

